SHARE THIS POST:
Updated: April 18, 2022
What Are the Fines for a Second DUI?
If you or somebody you love is facing a second DUI charge in California, there are probably many things going through your head right now. Of course, getting a reasonable attorney and being cooperative is essential. But how much are the fines for a second DUI? And what other issues might a person convicted of a second DUI face?
California Second DUI Law
California DUI laws are some of the most stringent in America. They are serious about preventing accidents due to impaired driving, and they’re willing to throw the book at a person who hasn’t learned their lesson yet.
If you decide to drive drunk after your first DUI, you can face the following with your second DUI charge:
- Fines and penalties will cost between around $400 and usually up to $2000.
- Three to five years of summary probation and no less than 96 hours in jail.
- If you haven’t finished the terms of your first DUI charge, you will face penalties for the rest of that sentence as well.
- You may have to go to up to 15-30 months of DUI school, which you will also pay fees out of your own pocket to complete. The costs for second offenders cost $1500-3000 dollars, according
- If you are allowed to drive again, you’ll have to pay money to have your driver’s license reinstated and install and rent an ignition interlock device.
If you’re thinking of drinking and driving, it’s just not worth it to get a second DUI. If you can’t control your drinking and poor decisions you make when you drink, you may need to get help for an alcohol use disorder. A second DUi will often just lead to a third or fourth.
Alcohol is Addictive
A second DUI is often the symptom of a greater problem. Alcohol addiction can lead to more than just a DUI. It can cost relationships, families, and careers. Alcohol use disorder is a term to describe people who are addicted to alcohol or can’t control their alcohol use. People with alcohol use may binge drinking, day drink, or drink intermittently. They may black out or make a poor choice when they drink.
There are a lot of people who make poor choices due to their relationship with alcohol. If you’ve made a few mistakes, that doesn’t mean you have to continue down that path!
You don’t have to hit bottom to start recovery. You can avoid a lot of pain and misery, heal from your past, and start living your life through recovery. You don’t have to lose relationships, jobs, or even your freedom due to your use of alcohol or other substances.
An inpatient treatment program can help you reclaim your life and start to live alcohol-free. You’ll improve your relationships and learn how to live an authentic, serene life in recovery.
We can help you begin to transform your life and achieve long-lasting sobriety. Learn more about how we can help you get started by calling 619-363-4767.
If you or a loved one is looking for an effective drug rehab in San Diego, call 619-363-4767. One of our caring members is ready to answer all of your questions.
CategoriesRecovery San Diego